Welcome Y’all!

I’m a Paris novice and expert all at once.  These are my jumbled thoughts.

I’m a novice because I’ve been gone for 3 years.  I moved to Johannesburg for my job, and then my assignment came to an end.  Now we’re discovering Paris all over again.  All the new places!  The new neighborhood!  The new realities!

I’m a novice because I’ve never lived in Paris with two kids before.  My second child was born in Johannesburg, where we had space, an overabundance of cheap but wonderful childcare and a glorious climate.  Now we’re learning to live together in a (way) smaller apartment in a denser urban area with scarce childcare.  I’ve come back as a stay at home mom while I figure out my next steps and get us settled.

But I’m a Paris expert because this is where I lived for almost 5 years before we left on our South African adventure.  This is where we met, where we fell in love, where we wined and dined and where we had our first child.

My life is varied and this blog will be too.  There will be mom stuff.  There will be professional stuff.  There will be photos (because I love working on my photography).  There will be travel and insights to living/working/parenting in Paris.

If this is a blog about Paris, then why the title “BBQ & Bordeaux?”

I’m originally from Knoxville, Tennessee.  “BBQ & Bordeaux” reflects my love of food, my love of wine, and the best things (in my opinion) from my two respective places of residence (Tennessee and France).

Please enjoy my musings, and as we say in the South, “Y’all come back now, ya hear?”

Leave a Reply

